Of counts and monks
This 11.4-kilometre circular trail follows in the footsteps of the later Counts of Berg as well as the famous traces left by Cistercian monks in the Dhünntal valley. When the Counts of Berg moved to a new castle on the Wupper (now Burg Castle) in 1133, they made their old castle Berge (Altenberg) available for the foundation of a monastery. The monks soon built a new monastery complex in the Dhünntal valley, whose second, Gothic church remained world-famous under the name Altenberg Cathedral long after the abbey was dissolved at the beginning of the 19th century.
Along the way, hikers embark on a journey through time. They learn how the monks built the cathedral, why the people of the early Middle Ages had to fortify the borders of their estates and discover the remains of an old refuge castle. An elaborate reconstruction of Berge Castle gives an idea of why this complex was so impressive to contemporaries.
Odenthal-Altenberg is a stage on the "Bergischer Weg".
The trail has a total of 8 information boards. We would like to thank Elke Nagelschmidt, who looks after the trail as a volunteer trail patron.
As part of the Bergisch Hiking Weeks, two guided hikes will take place on the Grafenweg and Mönchsweg on 25.04.2026: Culinary tour on the Counts' and Monks' Trail
Between March and October, you can also reach the starting point of the Counts' and Monks' Trail very easily with the Bergischer WanderBus.






